The 2018 Tes FE shortlist has been revealed, check out who made the shortlist this year. 

Lifetime achievement 

For this category we do not publish a shortlist, the winner will be announced on the night of the awards.

Outstanding use of technology for improving teaching, learning and assessment

Sponsored by 

  • Basingstoke College of Technology
  • Blackburn College
  • Bolton College
  • Cardiff and Vale College
  • Harlow College
  • Portsmouth College
  • Solihull College & University Centre
  • Westminster Kingsway College

Employer engagement

Sponsored by 

  • Ayrshire College
  • Belfast Metropolitan College
  • City of Glasgow College
  • Derwen College
  • Keighley College
  • Lincoln College Group
  • Milton Keynes College
  • Stephenson College

Support for learners

  • Ayrshire College
  • Canterbury College
  • Elatt
  • Fircroft College of Adult Education
  • Kirklees College
  • Northampton College
  • Northern College
  • South Tyneside College

Contribution to the local community

  • Abingdon and Witney College
  • Barnet and Southgate College
  • Bury College
  • Elatt
  • Redbridge Institute of Adult Education
  • Warwickshire College
  • West Lothian College
  • Weymouth College

Best teaching and learning initiative

Sponsored by 

  • Barking and Dagenham College
  • Bedford College
  • Cambridge Regional College
  • Cardiff and Vale College
  • Coleg Cambria
  • Forth Valley College
  • Gateshead College
  • Portsmouth College

Professional services team of the year

  • Abingdon and Witney College
  • Bedford College
  • Central Bedfordshire College
  • City Lit
  • Dundee and Angus College
  • Grimsby Institute Group
  • Kirklees College
  • Leicester College

Apprenticeship programme of the year

Sponsored by 

  • Bridgwater & Taunton College
  • Busy Bees Training
  • City of Glasgow College
  • Gloucestershire College
  • Hartlepool College of FE
  • Royal Air Force
  • Warwickshire College
  • West Suffolk College

Assessor of the year

  • Calogero Alaimo – Newcastle Under Lyme College
  • Kelly Cave – Strode College
  • Keith Haynes – Bedford College Group
  • Joanne White – Walsall College
  • Julie McNab – London South East Colleges
  • Murray Stark – Inverness College UHI
  • Lucy Hedges – Smart Training and Recruitment
  • Tim Robinson – Coleg Cambria

Teacher of the year

Sponsored by 

  • Alison Scattergood – East Durham College
  • Keith Shiels – Lowestoft Sixth Form College
  • Deborah Koder – Barnet and Southgate College
  • Leon Johnson – Leeds City College
  • Nick Carroll – Belfast Metropolitan College
  • Shane Guildford – South Cheshire College and West Cheshire College
  • Tom Genillard – Long Road Sixth Form College, Cambridge
  • Wesley Davis – Worcester Sixth Form College

FE leader of the year

Sponsored by 

  • Anthony Harmer – Elatt
  • Garry Phillips – West London College
  • Lowell Williams – Dudley College of Technology
  • Mike James – Cardiff and Vale College
  • Mouhssin Ismail – The Newham Collegiate Sixth Form
  • Paul Little – City of Glasgow College
  • Sarah Le-Good – Derby College
  • Simon Pirotte – Bridgend College

FE college of the year

Sponsored by 

  • Belfast Metropolitan College
  • Blackpool and The Fylde College
  • Coleg Cambria
  • Dudley College of Technology
  • East Kent College
  • Fareham College
  • South Devon College
  • Truro and Penwith College

Training provider of the year

  • Elatt
  • Hart Learning & Development
  • HIT Training
  • Learning Curve Group
  • Lifetime Training
  • St Helens Chamber
  • The Michaeljohn Training School
  • West Berkshire Training Consortium

Sixth-form college of the year

  • Birkenhead Sixth Form College
  • Durham Sixth Form Centre
  • Greenhead College
  • Hills Road Sixth Form College
  • Huddersfield New College
  • Loreto Sixth Form College
  • Richard Huish College
  • St John Rigby College

Adult and community learning provider of the year

  • City College Peterborough
  • Fircroft College of Adult Education
  • Kent Adult Education/Community Learning and Skills
  • Lancashire Adult Learning
  • Morley College London
  • Skills & Learning Bournemouth, Dorset and Poole
  • Thurrock Adult Community College
  • Walsall Adult and Community College

Specialist provider of the year

  • Abingdon and Witney College
  • Coleg Elidyr
  • Derwen College
  • Elatt
  • Foxes Academy
  • National Star College
  • Weston College of Further and Higher Education
  • Weston House (Bridgend College)

Overall FE provider of the year 

Sponsored by

To be awarded on the night of the ceremony to one of the winners of the Training Provider of the Year, College of the Year, Specialist provider of the year, Adult and community learning provider of the year and Sixth form college of the year categories. 


Giving FE's finest the recognition they deserve.


Photos from the 2018 Tes FE Awards.


The winners were revealed on Friday 23 February 2018 at the Grosvenor House Hotel.


See why the Tes FE Awards are valued by the sector.


If you have an enquiry, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us.


Sign up here to receive the latest news on the Tes FE Awards.