The countdown to the most prestigious event in the further education calendar begins today with the publication of the shortlist for the TES FE Awards 2017

Lifetime achievement 

The shortlist for this award is kept secret. The winner will be revealed at the ceremony on Friday 24 February 2017

Teacher of the year

Vicky Close, Huddersfield New College
Brian Douglas, Belfast Metropolitan College
Lorraine Kemp, Thurrock Adult Community College
Judith Larsen, Bedford College
Claire Marsh, the Manchester College
Emma Nevin, Novus
Anne Pickering, South Cheshire College
James Tarling, Exeter College

FE leader of the year

David Jones, Coleg Cambria
Hilda Koon, the Manchester College
Paul Little, City of Glasgow College
Hayley Lomas, Bradford College
Lee Lucas, Fashion Retail Academy
Sam Parrett, London South East Colleges
Mohammed Ramzan, John Ruskin College
Lindsey Whiterod, South Tyneside College

FE College of the year

Bishop Burton College
Cardiff and Vale College
Coleg Cambria
Exeter College
Gateshead College
Glasgow Kelvin College
South Tyneside College
Truro and Penwith College

Training provider of the year

Creative Learning Partners
Fashion Retail Academy
Haddon Training
HIT Training
Icon Training
Open Study College
Training 2 Care UK

Sixth form college of the year

Birkenhead Sixth Form College
The Blackpool Sixth Form College
Hills Road Sixth-Form College
Huddersfield New College
Joseph Chamberlain College
Richard Huish College
St John Rigby College
Winstanley College

Support for learners

Barking and Dagenham College
Belfast Metropolitan College
Blackpool and the Fylde College
Bridgend College
Gateshead Council
Glasgow Clyde College in partnership with Glasgow Kelvin College and Glasgow City Council Education Department
Newcastle College
New College Durham

Contribution to the local community

Ayrshire College
Barking and Dagenham College
East Kent College
ELATT Connected Learning
Manchester Adult Education Service
The Manchester College
Merthyr Tydfil College
West Lothian College

Best teaching and learning initiative

Activate Learning
Christ the King Sixth-Form College
Creative Learning Partners
ELATT Connected Learning
Gower College Swansea
South Eastern Regional College
West Suffolk College

Outstanding use of technology for improving teaching, learning and assessment

Abingdon and Witney College
Barton Peveril College
Basingstoke College of Technology
Ealing, Hammersmith and West London College
Hartpury College
Heart of Worcestershire College
Loughborough College
Uxbridge College

Marketing/communications campaign of the year

Exeter College
Hart Learning and Development
Lewisham Southwark College
National Extension College
Newcastle College
Newcastle-under-Lyme College
Pembrokeshire College
Westminster Kingsway College

Employer engagement

Blackpool and the Fylde College
Derwentside College
Fashion Retail Academy
Hull College Group
Ingeus Training
South Devon College
Warwickshire College
West Lothian College

Assessor of the year

Daniel Armstrong, HIT Training
Mike Chick, Bridgend College
Yvonne Evans, Coleg Cambria
Rosie Gilmartin, Coleg Cambria
Karen Jones, Salford City College
Dean Moorhouse, Newcastleunder-Lyme College
Nicola Smith, Derwentside College
Coral Yorston, UK Training and Development

Professional services team of the year

Barking and Dagenham College
Canterbury College
City and Islington College
Dundee and Angus College
Exeter College
Highbury College
Newcastle-under-Lyme College
Peterborough Regional College

Apprenticeship programme of the year

Abingdon and Witney College
Belfast Metropolitan College
City College Plymouth
Craven College
Icon Training
Pendennis Shipyard
Warwickshire College
West Lothian College

Overall FE provider of the year 

This award will be given to one of the winners in the training provider of the year, sixth form college of the year and FE college of the year categories

Giving FE's finest the recognition they deserve.

Photos from the 2017 TES FE Awards.

The winners will be revealed on Friday 24 February 2017 at the Grosvenor House Hotel.

See why the TES FE Awards are valued by the sector.

If you have an enquiry, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us.

Sign up here to receive the latest news on the TES FE Awards.